Research Project: 2/6

Generating Ideas

retrieved from: https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/proxy/npHG_1Y8AJo2ZLvO9_3n-43RKI07wqtjGk1Enw6pLMm9rxfkjZtwjjofjPae0WwOz4l0XE1llwW_C1gUvclRXbXVgjt7koPi7nwJFxx7Yk83cZdf4V7vY3DE_8qg3GehvqCdh3YTXpeV0B-tQF4nn8MhRYbLLoUIGwtQ2f6IAUk

The second part of my research project is to generate ideas. To do this, I will be referring to my media usage log that I explored in my previous post. From conducting my 48-hour media log, I have recognised that gaming has allowed me to escape the tensions of everyday life and it has had a significant affect on my mental health. In relation to others, it would be interesting to see if gaming offers the same sense of escapism for others.

From my log, I identified that I used the Xbox, the PC and my mobile phone to play video games and the main games that I play are: Apex Legends, Sims 4, Plague Inc, Bit-life and Subnautica. Each of these games have different genres for example, Apex Legends is an RPG, first-person battle royal whereas the Sims 4 is an open world simulation game.

In order to generate research questions, I will be focusing on 14-24-year olds as my target demographic group. This is because young teens especially can access games regardless of the PEGI age rating recommendation. When identifying a manageable topic, I used my log to identify my most used media technology, and that was gaming. Therefore, it seemed obvious to research a topic that I was most interest in and knew about. I then started to think about some potential research topic questions via a mind map.

There are many research methods that I can use for my project, which can include surveys, questionnaires, vox pop interviews, etc. The two methods that I find most useful in using for my research project are survey’s and questionnaires as I can use specific questions to ask my target demographic group.

—-> Stay bright, stay positive and shine // Emy

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started