Pre-production and Planning

Introduction to my project:

For my project, I want to explore how drag has shaped the future and definition of gender and sexual identity and for my production piece I will be creating a magazine that solely focuses on gender and how ‘gender-bending’ is shaping the future of gender identification as what it means to be male or female is ever-evolving. I will also conduct a textual analysis that focuses solely on gender and sexual identity and how it is represented in the drag world by analysing RuPaul’s Drag Race (RPDR), both the US and UK versions of the show. As mentioned before, gender and sexuality are ever evolving from the traditional norms of heterosexuality, and being male or female, that is evident in the LGBTQ+ community and beyond. There are no boundaries on who a person chooses to love or be, as long as the person is happy within themselves.

Background Research:

I have chosen to look at RuPaul’s Drag Race because of revolutionary expression on breaking gender norms with its depiction of drag over 12 seasons of the US version and its first season of the UK version.

The show is highly influential for many individuals as the contestants share their own experiences with prejudice that they have experienced, engaging audiences in a way which they can identify with the queens and their stories, as they may have experienced the same prejudice for their gender and sexuality. For example, in season 11 Nina West shared her experience of the harassment, homophobia and being the target of hate crimes (RuPaul’s Drag Race, 2019). However, there have been many occasions where the show and RuPaul himself has received criticism for their view on transexual contestants, as RuPaul explains, “importance is not placed on identification or performance but on the body form itself. Without a masculine body there is no rejection to the male-dominated culture” (Brown,2018). Drag itself is the performance of gender identity and as Butler describes drag is evidence in showing the social constructs of gender (Schottmiller, 2017).

There are also other types of media that explore gender and sexual identity such as magazines, films, and TV shows. One example is Vanity Fair, where Bruce Jenner publicised his transition into Caitlyn Jenner. The front cover gained media coverage from all over the world, as she was showcasing to the world what it feels like to be trapped in the wrong body, and her battles in gender identity (Lovelock, 2017). Jenner’s transformation was inspiring for many individuals, including myself, although it is a happy moment for her, the representation that she produced between her stardom and issues with transgender populations.

An example of a film that explore gender and sexuality is The Rocky Horror Picture Show (1975) known as a cult classic among fans, its gender bending, sexual nature, and sexual attitudes towards sexuality, and catching songs including ‘Sweet Transvestite’ (Kimble, 2012). The film challenges audiences to explore queer gender roles and sexuality with male actors who are heterosexual portraying characters that are transvestites, therefore the male actors are ultimately dressing in drag (Reale, 2012).

Lastly, American Horror Story: Hotel (2015) depicts gender and sexual identity through Liz Taylor a transexual bartender played by Denis O’Hare, a heterosexual man. In an interview with Entertainment Weekly, O’Hare stated, “the last moment when a cisgender man could play a transgender character or female character” (People TV, 2019). This signifies the changes in Hollywood about heterosexual men or women playing characters who are apart of the LBGTQ+ community are diminishing with time and is becoming less accepted in the industry.

All of the above have inspired my interest in focusing on gender and sexual identity in RuPaul’s Drag Race as apart of my textual analysis as it is clear that stigma and prejudice is still an issue in Hollywood and the entertainment world. There have been many changes to society influenced by the stars of the show who have become inspirations for many others in their journey in finding themselves.

Planning my production:

My magazine will follow conventions similar to Gay Times magazine. For example, a key signifier that is the main focus on the cover with little text and the feature being simple but formative to the audience. The target audience for my production piece are the LGBTQ+ community, both males and females or any other genders that individuals identify as and both the younger and older demographic. My aim is to show people that they do not need to be ashamed of who they are whether it be their gender, sexuality and in the words of RuPaul, ‘We’re all born naked, and the rest is drag’ (OWN, 2018).

When planning a production piece, health and safety steps need to be followed to ensure that it ethically correct. Therefore, an ethics and risk assessment form will be completed before starting my production as I need to make sure all aspects are covered. Firstly, I have ensured that I have given myself a good timeframe of 4 weeks to complete all aspects of my production piece. This will provide me with enough time to make amendments if needed. As I am currently planning on producing a magazine feature, I need to make sure that I plan ahead for a magazine front cover to make the piece come together. I will not be including other people in my production, as I will be using secondary sources. This means that I will need to consider of copyright and ensure that I give a source to anything I use that does not belong to me. Given the current climate with COVID-19, I feel that the best decision is not include other participants at this time.

To create my production, I will be using a mixture of Photoshop, InDesign and Lightroom to produce the magazine feature and a front cover if needed, I will also be using a Nikon 3d100 to take original photos. I have also created a plan to guide me through the process of creating my project pieces.

—-> Stay bright, stay positive and shine // Emy

signed ethics form:

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started